33rd Annual Induction Ceremony and Dinner

Wednesday, November 8, 2023

Buffalo Niagara Convention Center
153 Franklin Street Buffalo, NY 14202

Presented by:

Dave & Adams logo
Key Bank

Meet the Class of 2023:

  • Cheryl Bailey – college coach and administrator who also served as the General Manager of the United States Women’s National Soccer Team.
  • Santo DeSain – Legendary ECC coach who led women’s basketball, softball, and baseball to a combined .779 winning percentage, and several championships.
  • Kara Haun-Rehbaum – College athlete and administrator – standout at Canisius College, scoring 1,661 pts. for the Golden Griffins, and is now in her 19th year as athletic administrator at Hilbert College.
  • Gerry Meehan – A member of the inaugural Buffalo Sabres team (1970-71) and later served as the team captain, and was first former player to work in the front office – served as G.M., Vice President, and Executive Vice President.
  • Eric Moulds – Buffalo Bills receiver who led the AFC with a team record 1,368 receiving yards in 1998. He is second all time in Bills receptions and receiving yards.
  • Otto Orf – Indoor soccer star, and one of the most recognized goalkeepers in the history of indoor pro soccer, and later served as goalkeeper coach and assistant coach of the US Men’s Futsal National Team.
  • Adam Page – Three-time Gold medalist for Team USA Paralympic sled hockey team, and co-founder of the Sled Hockey Foundation, providing individuals with impairments the opportunity to take part in para ice hockey.
  • Dave Wohlabaugh – 9-year NFL Veteran drafted by the New England Patriots, and started every game over four years, was a member of the Pats’ Superbowl XXXI Championship team, and was named to the Pats’ All 90s team.
  • Bud Bakewell – Western New York youth sports pioneer, particularly with hockey. First American named to the Old Timers Hockey News Hall of Fame in Canada.
  • Bobby Chandler – Buffalo Bills wide receiver and two-time second team All Pro selection – ranks in the Bills’ top ten all time in both receptions and receiving yards.
  • Drake Francescone – Longtime City Honors coach who coached 7 different sports over 23 years, capturing 49 city championships, 12 Section VI championships, and a number of state titles.
  • Eddie Malanowicz – Two-sport athlete at UB. He captained the Bulls basketball and football teams in 1932. Led the basketball team to a 45-4 record over three seasons, and he still holds the school record for a 104-yard kickoff return for a TD.

2023 Team of Distinction

Plant 6, a powerhouse softball team, began playing together in 1977 and continued until 2006. During that span, the team competed on the east coast, winning more than 200 tournaments.

2023 Dick Gallagher Legacy Award

Dennis DiPaolo. The Gallagher Award is presented annually to an individual that has a superior passion for Western New York High School sports. Dennis DiPaolo has been an incredible supporter of high school sports, impacting countless athletes throughout the WNY region.


Please note that we are still in the process of transferring and configuring all content from buffalosportshallfame.com to a new website design.

The process will be completed in the next few months. Please check back for updates.

Thank you for your patience!