17 Nov 2022

Class of 2022 Inducted

0 Comment

Congratulations to all our Inductees!

Class of 2022 Induction group

Row 1: Greg Merkle, Tim Winn, Susan Schoellkopf, Emily Regan, Jim Hanley, Jim Nowicki
Row 2: Orv Cott, Jeff Anastasia, Ryan Miller, Marty Cott, Ed Cott

BUFFALO, NY – The Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame inducted its 12 member class of 2022 at our annual induction ceremony and dinner.

The event marked the 32nd class inducted into the Hall of Fame since its inception in 1991 and brings total membership to 376.

This group joins a rich heritage of native Western New Yorkers, or those who starred in and around the Queen City during their playing days, who are enshrined in the Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame. The 2022 class was officially inducted at the annual GBSHOF dinner in the Buffalo Niagara Convention Center.

In addition, the Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame Board of Directors introduced its third annual “Team of Distinction” award to the Sweet Home High School Girls’ Volleyball team, who posted a 292 match winning streak and was named the sport’s top program in the first 100 years of its history.

The dinner MC was 2022 Dick Gallagher Legacy Award and Buffalo Bills play by play man, John Murphy. The Gallagher Award is presented annually to an individual that has a superior passion for Western New York High School sports. Dick Gallagher devoted over 20 years to the advancement and celebration of high school sports.

2022 GBSHOF Inductees

  1. Jeff Anastasia – Winningest boys coach in Western New York basketball history. Career record of 602-139 at Olean High School.
  2. Gordy Bukaty (deceased) – Four sport standout at Lackawanna HS. Captain and two-way performer for U/B football. Lackawanna HS football coach and administrator. Passed away in 1987 at the age of 48
  3. Cott Family – Includes Orval, Sr., Ed, Orv, Jr. and Marty. Multi-sport stars known most prominently for their talents on the baseball diamond.
  4. Jim Hanley – First sport fisherman to be inducted. Has spent a lifetime of guiding fisherman on the waters of Lake Erie. Successful host of Jim Hanley’s Northeast Outdoors TV show.
  5. Bob Kauffman (deceased) – Four seasons with Buffalo Braves averaged 15.8 points and 9.2 rebounds. Three-time NBA All-Star in Buffalo. Passed away in 2015 at the age of 69.
  6. Cora Livingston (deceased) – Pioneer of women’s professional wrestling. Became world champion in 1910. Passed away in 1957 at the age of 70.
  7. William “Doc” McMahon (deceased) – Tournament director for Niagara Falls Country Club and Porter Cup for 17 years. Chaired the Porter Cup from 1962-64 and 1974. Passed away in 1995 at the age of 74.
  8. Ryan Miller – Buffalo Sabres goalie, who captured 2010 Vezina Trophy. Winningest American-born goalie in NHL history, including 284 victories, over 11 seasons, with the Sabres.
  9. Jim Nowicki – Founder and race director of the Subaru 4-Mile Chase. A true organizer and contributor; also a member of WNY Softball HOF and noted local basketball official.
  10. Emily Regan – Rower, who won a gold medal in 2016 Olympics. Three sport star at Nichols. First team All-American rower at Michigan State.
  11. Susan Schoellkopf – Equestrian. Owner and operator of SBS Farms, Inc. Has trained 7 National High Score award horses. Top national horse judge. Executive Director of the Buffalo Therapeutic Riding Center.
  12. Tim Winn – Basketball. Two-time WNY Player of the Year. Led LaSalle HS to a pair of NYS titles. Point guard for St. Bonaventure’s 2000 NCAA Tourney team.

2022 Team of Distinction

Sweet Home Volleyball – Under direction of Sally Kus, went 792-29 and won 15 consecutive regionals and 20 straight Section VI Class A championships. 292 consecutive wins and recognized as the nation’s best girls’ volleyball program in the country.



Please note that we are still in the process of transferring and configuring all content from buffalosportshallfame.com to a new website design.

The process will be completed in the next few months. Please check back for updates.

Thank you for your patience!